Otter Creek HT

Bear with me, for I have finally lost my mind.

For some reason, the World Equestrian Games coming to town has inspired me to make lofty plans.    It’s so neat to see all of the teams when you go to the grocery store at night… The world has descended upon our little town!  Feeling inspired, I sat down to enter horse trials for the fall.  When we lacked any horse trial in our area in September, I had a few options to choose from…. Nearby Georgia, or Virginia perhaps, or next door to Ohio.  But NOOOOO, for some reason I was feeling gallant, and mailed entries to Otter Creek HT, which is in WISCONSIN.  Not even the near part of WI, but rather we are practically going to St Paul, Minnesota.  EEEK!

The girls and I embark on our trip at 2am tomorrow morning, aiming to driving more than 1500 miles round trip.   Even better, my truck just managed to get out of the shop at 6pm the night before, so I’ll be driving on pins and needles half way across the country.

I’m sure it is going to be a great weekend, and I’ve heard it’s a lovely event… But I can’t help but laugh at myself for such a lofty expedition!    I won’t have internet access this weekend, but you can keep up at

http://www.evententries.com/livescoring/14507.html

(Photo at left:  WS Jenny packs the trailer with the strength of a thousand working students!   =)

And I’m sure we’ll post some updates as a response to this post.  Till then, have fun, keep your fingers crossed for us, and I tip my big ol’ glass of Red Bull to ya!

Megan

About widespreadpanic

Advanced level event rider and instructor at Team CEO Eventing in Lexington KY.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Otter Creek HT

  1. murphysgreytrooper says:

    I found Nemo and Hopper on live-scoring. Have fun up / over there!!

  2. hfmoore says:

    Nemo was second after Dressage, moved into first with a scintillating XC round (this was a BEAUTIFUL XC course with GREAT footing but was wheeled very tight so no one made time). Nemo’s stadium at 8:15 a.m. in the freezing cold was spectacular, not even a hint of a rail. Unfortunately, the sun peeked over the pines just as he rounded a corner to a big oxer, looking directly into the sun and was blinded – he slammed into it, knocking the whole thing down. GOOD BOY – he should never jump when he can’t see or understand the obstacle! She made time even with the stop. The second place horse (ridden by an experienced 3* rider, nice young lady & good rider) had a clean round and snatched the blue with Nemo finishing 2nd. Very few (two?) clean stadium rounds, very few (three or four?) clean XC rounds. I’ve got some fabulous footage, including the stadium jump & sun shot from Nemo’s viewpoint.

    Girls are on their way home, I’m in St. Paul. Hard freeze last nite, so cold the trailer heater could only keep the LQ at 55 degrees!

  3. hfmoore says:

    Wow, just looked at the scores and they were even tighter than I thought – 0.4 points, or 1 second on XC!!

    Only one double clean round in stadium.

    Nemo had the fastest XC time of the day, only 5 horses finished without jumping penalties.

    ETA Georgetown about 1:00 a.m.

  4. murphysgreytrooper says:

    Just talked to Megan to thank her for a lovely ride on Vie today. The weather was sunny and crisp, a great day to be at Team CEO! So glad all are well, and are headed home. BIG congrats on a 2nd place for Nemo!!

  5. agullett says:

    Congrats Nemo!! Hope to see everyone at WEG-come see me at the Equine Village Kids Zone….there’s a free mechanical cutting horse to ride!! ~Ashlea

Leave a Reply

