Richland Park Horse Trials

Greetings all!!!!

I learned Tuesday that the Intermediate divisions at Richland would start on Thursday (not Friday as originally planned), so a little scurry-scurry-scurry later, and early Wednesday morning I headed off to Michigan with my two wonderful horses in tow.  I thought for a moment that I might have to head across the country alone, but thankfully my wonderful student Quin was kind enough to come with me for the week to groom!   I never mind grooming for myself, but WOW that would have been a lonely drive!

Nemo did dressage on Thursday.  I ended up with less warmup than I would have liked, but he was a good boy, quiet and steady.    I would have liked to have a couple more minutes to be more through in the trot.   But he was super quiet and obedient, and I was really happy with him!    The intermediate divisions this weekend are really, really impressive with practically every advanced level rider on the east coast competing this weekend.  He rode in front of Gretchen Butts, an outstanding and world-class dressage judge who I really respect, and who was definitely discriminating in the judging.   I was really happy with Nemo’s 37!   He sits in 10th in a big division of fabulous riders going into XC.

Hopper did dressage on Friday.    I went over to the ring when the horse before me finished, only to have to stop and wait while she re-rode the end of her test due to an error.    Hopper got a little tense while waiting, but he managed to work out of it while trotting around the outside of the arena.   My goal was to ride him in a higher frame than usual, taking advantage of his new strength.  I was SO happy with him…. He was much more “up” than usual, and had a nice, solid test without any major mistakes.    He was in front of another really good quality international judge, and the comment around the barn was that her scores were quite tough today…  I was really happy with his 38 in dressage, to sit in 11th place in Open Intermediate B.     (Wow, am I consistent or what?)   He was such a good boy—I’m really happy with him!

Here’s  a link to LIVE results at all levels…. There’s quite a KY contingency this weekend, so best of luck to everyone from back home!!!        http://www.evententries.com/livescoring/14468.html

We walked the XC course yesterday.    It looks BIG and challenging, but I’m looking forward to it!  The photo is of Quin from the course walk…  Let’s just say that Quin is 5’9″ and standing beside the intermediate fence!       They rescheduled the XC tomorrow, so my ride times are 8:12 and 9:20.    Hopefully the boys will be terrific, and I”m really looking forward to this opportunity with them.   We are so lucky to be here at this world class event!   Definitely want to make the most of it….

It has been really hot this year in the southeast…..   Last week it was a heat index of 100 degrees at home…. When we arrived in MI, the first night it was 50 degrees….. We’re talking about a 50 degree drop in temps!!!  Of course that was the night that the generator chose not to work, so needless to say Quin and I shivered our way through the night sleeping in the horse trailer!  Saturday looks beautiful though, with a low of 60 and high of 85.   Keep your fingers crossed for good XC rounds!

Until then, have a blast!

Megan

About widespreadpanic

Advanced level event rider and instructor at Team CEO Eventing in Lexington KY.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Richland Park Horse Trials

  1. dexter says:

    I’ve been checking the results online… what a group of horses and riders up there!!! I’m so proud of you and the boys for having such great tests 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about the awesome XC!

  2. swedishmegh says:

    Keep up the good work!!!!

  3. dexter says:

    Nemo and Hopper BOTH double-clear on XC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Woooooooo!!! 🙂 🙂

  4. swedishmegh says:

    Must have been beautiful rounds! Can’t wait to hear!

Leave a Reply

